Stockholm University (Sweden)

Stockholm University (Sweden)

Stockholm University. Stockholms universitet is one of the largest and most prestigious universities in Sweden. It was created in 1878 with the birth of Stockholm Högskola, an institute for the teaching of Natural Sciences. In 1960 it acquired the status of a university.


His studies and research are focused on the areas of Humanities, Law and Social and Natural Sciences. Located in the capital of Sweden, in the city of Stockholm. Its main courses are in Frescati, in the middle of the largest and most beautiful park in the city (Bergianska trädgården), just ten minutes from the city center. It is characterized by its natural beauty, its unique architecture, contemporary art and sculpture.

Its collaboration between students, researchers and companies produces advances that can be exploited by the community thanks to the innovation in the creation of the hardest glass in the world, a technique to transmit feelings and emotions through the mobile phone and the development of patents to inhibit resistance to the antibiotics. In exchange between theoretical and practical knowledge in real companies, it results in benefits for the University and the community.

Swedish courses for foreign students Stockholm University Stockholm University (Stockholms universitet) is the largest university in Sweden and the main one in the disciplines of humanities, social sciences, law, mathematics and natural sciences. It currently has around 64,000 students in its four faculties. Five scientists who have been studying at Stockholm University have received the Nobel Prize.

Illustrious people

  • Svante Arrhenius 1859 – 1927, winner of the 1903 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, professor and rector of the University.
  • Ingmar Bergman, film director.
  • Carl Bildt, Prime Minister 1991 – 1994, and Minister of Foreign Affairs since 2006.
  • Horace Engdahl, previously the Principal Secretary of the Royal Swedish Academy.
  • Hans von Euler-Chelpin, awarded the 1929 Nobel Prize in Chemistry.
  • Harry Flam, economist, Dean of the Department of Economic Sciences.
  • Dag Hammarskjöld Doctor of Economics 1933, Secretary General of the UN.
  • Signe Hammarsten-Jansson ( 1882 – 1970 ), illustrator.
  • Olof Palme, Prime Minister until 1986.
  • Georgios Papandreou, Prime Minister of Greece. He studied sociology 1972 – 1973.
  • Fredrik Reinfeldt, Prime Minister of Sweden since 2006.
  • Tomas Tranströmer (Graduated from Psychologist 1956 ), poet.
  • Christer Fuglesang, Astronaut. First Swede, and first Scandinavian in space.


Stockholm University is divided into four faculties:

  • Faculty of Humanities
  • law School
  • Science Faculty
  • Faculty of Social Sciences

Karolinska Institute

Karolinska Institute (in Swedish : Karolinska Institutet ). It is the world’s largest university institution of higher education in medicine. A committee of this institute is in charge of appointing the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. The Karolinska Hospital is associated with the Institute, as a teaching hospital. The institute is a member of the European League for University Research.


The Karolinska Institute was founded between 1810 and 1811, after the Finnish War, as a training center for army surgeons. The original name was originally “Medico-Chirurgiska Institutet”. In 1817 the prefix “Karolinska” was added as a reference to the Swedish king Karl XIII, becoming the “Kongliga Carolinska Medico Chirurgiska Institutet”. In 1968 this name was changed to “Karolinska Institutet”.

Among its founders stands out Jöns Jacob Berzelius, professor of chemistry and pharmacy, and one of the founders of modern chemistry. In 1861, thanks to its growing recognition, this institute received university status. It is currently the only Swedish university for medicine and other related sciences, such as dentistry, toxicology and physical therapy.

The motto of the Karolinska Institute refers to it being a leading center in medical education. Not for nothing is it one of the largest and best valued centers dedicated to medical teaching and research. In Europe it is recognized as one of the main European universities and in Sweden it is number one.

Participate in numerous international exchange programs such as Erasmus, Nordplus and Linnaeus-Palme. It also has numerous agreements with universities around the world and is a member of the European League for University Research. Some of its programs and all of its Masters are taught in English.

It is the third oldest medical school in Sweden, behind Uppsala University and Lund University. In 2011, the Academic Ranking of World Universities placed it in ninth place in the field of clinical medicine and pharmacology. Similarly, the 2012 Times Higher Education World University Ranking gave it the 32nd place in the world, the 6th in Europe and the place of honor in the Nordic Region. Among the list of notable alumni are: Jöns Jakob Berzelius, inventor of modern chemical notation and considered one of the fathers of modern chemistry (he discovered the following elements: silicon, selenium, thorium and cerium); Herbert Olivecrona ( 1891 – 1980 ), founder of the Swedish neurosurgery; Hugo Theorell (1903–1982), Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 1955.

Recognized graduates

  • Hugo Theorell, winner of the 1955 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine
  • Torsten Wiesel, Nobel Prize laureate in Physiology or Medicine in 1981

Study areas

  • Department of Biosciences and Nutrition
  • Cell and Molecular Biology Department
  • Department of Public Health
  • Department of Physiology and Pharmacology
  • Department of Clinical Sciences and Education, Södersjukhuset
  • Department of Clinical Neuroscience
  • Department of Clinical Sciences of Intervention and Technology
  • Department of Clinical Sciences, Danderyd Hospital
  • Department of Women’s and Children’s Health
  • Laboratory Medicine Department
  • Department of Learning, Informatics, Management and Ethics
  • Department of Medicine, Huddinge
  • Department of Medicine, Solna
  • Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics
  • Epidemiology and Biostatistics Medical Services Department
  • Department of Microbiology and Tumor Cell Biology
  • Institute of Environmental Medicine
  • Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery
  • Department of Neurobiology, Attention Sciences and Society
  • Neuroscience Department
  • Dentistry department
  • Department of Oncology, Pathology

Stockholm University (Sweden)

Comments are closed.