Malawi Education

Malawi Education


Malawi has a free, compulsory primary school education, which begins at the age of six and lasts for eight years. It is divided into two stages. During the first five courses the teaching takes place in chewa, then only in English. Secondary education begins at the age of 14 and lasts for four years with two cycles each of two years. In 2009, 91% of the current age groups were enrolled in primary school. The corresponding figure for the secondary school was 25% in the same year. However, many children do not complete their schooling, mainly due to various consequences of poverty.

Malawi Schooling

Land area 118,484 km²
Total population 21,196,629
Population density (per km²) 178.9
Capital Lilongwe
Official language English, Chichewa
Income per capita $ 1,200
Currency Malawi Kwacha
ISO 3166 code MW
Internet TLD .mw
License plate MW
Telephone code +265
Time zone UTC + 2
Geographic coordinates 13 30 S, 34 00 O

The country has two universities: University of Malawi in Lilongwe (founded in 1964) and University of Mzuzu (inaugurated in 1999).

The reading and writing skills of the adult population (15 years and over) were estimated in 2009 to be 74% (81% for men and 67% for women).


Lilongwe, the capital of Malawi; 1.07 million inbd (2015). To support a more equitable regional development in the country, Lilongwe in the middle of the country in 1975 was designated as the capital rather than Zomba further south. The city consists of the old parts with markets and Asian owned shops and the new capital Hill town with government offices, embassies and university. However, it took some time before the city came to function as a real metropolis, neither in terms of economy, business or housing, but now (2015) the city is growing rapidly – approximately 4.3% per annum. The Constitution of 1994 does not designate a capital; However, Lilongwe is the center of legislative power and financial life, and in 2005 the last government offices moved to the city.

Comments are closed.