Higher Education in North Dakota

Higher Education in North Dakota

North Dakota is home to 11 public and 4 private higher education institutions. The University of North Dakota (UND) is the state’s oldest and largest university, located in Grand Forks. UND offers over 225 academic programs, including 77 undergraduate majors and over 80 graduate programs. Additionally, UND offers a Doctor of Medicine program through its School of Medicine & Health Sciences. North Dakota State University (NDSU) is the state’s second-largest university, located in Fargo. It offers over 125 degree programs at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. NDSU also hosts an agricultural research center that focuses on crop and animal sciences, agribusiness, and rural development initiatives.

The remaining 9 public institutions offer a variety of degrees across many disciplines as well as technical certificates for students interested in entering the workforce quickly or continuing their education at a later date. These include Bismarck State College, Dickinson State University, Minot State University, Valley City State University, Lake Region State College, Williston State College, Turtle Mountain Community College, Sitting Bull College, and United Tribes Technical College. Each school has its own unique mission – some focus on providing access to educational opportunities for underserved populations while others are committed to advancing research initiatives in specific fields such as engineering or medicine.

Main Counties

According to COUNTRYAAH, the top three counties in North Dakota are Cass, Burleigh, and Grand Forks. Cass County is the most populous county in the state with a population of about 172,000. It is located in the eastern central part of North Dakota and includes areas such as Fargo, West Fargo, and Moorhead. It is home to several universities and colleges including North Dakota State University and Minnesota State University Moorhead. The county also has a large agricultural sector that includes corn, soybeans, wheat, barley, oats, sugar beets, and sunflowers. Burleigh County is the second most populous county in North Dakota with a population of about 79,000. It lies in the south central region of the state and includes cities such as Bismarck and Mandan. It has several parks including Fort Abraham Lincoln State Park that offers visitors access to hiking trails and recreational activities like fishing and boating on the Missouri River. Grand Forks County is located in northeast North Dakota along the Red River Valley. This county has a population of about 68,000 people and contains cities such as Grand Forks, East Grand Forks, Grafton, Thompson, Larimore, Gilby, Emerado and Mekinock. The area offers plenty of outdoor activities like camping at Turtle River State Park or skiing at Trollhaugen Ski Area Resort. There are also many cultural attractions like music festivals held each summer or art galleries showcasing local talent from around the region.

Business Schools

The University of Mary is the third top business school in North Dakota. Located in Bismarck, the university offers a range of undergraduate and graduate programs in business, including the MBA. The university has a strong commitment to providing students with a rigorous education that prepares them for success in the workplace. The faculty are experienced professionals who are dedicated to helping students achieve their educational and professional goals. In addition to traditional classroom instruction, the university offers internships and other experiential learning opportunities that help students gain real-world experience. UMary also offers individualized academic advising as well as career services for those interested in pursuing a career in business. With its strong emphasis on professional development, UMary is an excellent choice for those seeking an engaging and challenging business education.

The University of Mary

Comments are closed.