Fiji Geography

Fiji Geography

According to a2zdirectory, the Republic of Fiji is an island nation in the southwestern Pacific. Fiji is located north of New Zealand and east of Australia and comprises the approximately 332 Fiji Islands, of which about 110 are inhabited. The island of Rotuma, which lies outside the Fiji archipelago in the north, and A toll Ceva-i-Ra in the extreme southwest, also belong to the territory of the Republic of Fiji. The national territory of the Fiji Islands amounts to a total of almost 18,300 square kilometers. About 87% of the total area is taken up by the two main islands Viti Levu and Vanua Levu. Suva, the capital of Fiji, is on the island of Viti Levu.

The larger islands of the Fiji archipelago are formed from volcanoes and are predominantly covered by rugged mountains from which high volcanic cones rise. Tomanivi, located on the island of Viti Levu, is the highest mountain in the Fiji Islands at 1,324 meters. The mountain ranges of the two main islands, Viti Levu and Vanua Levu, rise steeply above the very narrow coastal plains and the offshore coral atolls. Both the mountainous inland and the southeastern sides of the two islands are surrounded by dense tropical rainforest. The regions in the west of the islands are drier and are used for growing sugar cane, the main industry of the Fiji Islands.
The other islands in the archipelago were formed from coral reefs.

After the two main islands, the Kadavu Islands, about 90 kilometers from the capital Suva, are also important. This archipelago, which was first sighted in 1792 by the captain of the “Bounty”, consists of many smaller islands, the main island of Kadavu, which is around 400 square kilometers, the island of Ono and the island of Galoa. Mountain ranges up to 800 meters high characterize the interior of the Kadavu Islands, while the coasts are characterized by bays cut deep into the land.

Numerous other islands and archipelagos in the Fiji archipelago such as the Lau Islands and the Lomaiviti Islands, which in turn consist of many small islands and atolls, are also widely scattered in the sea.

Best time to visit Fiji

The ideal time to visit the Fiji Islands is during the dry season between May and October. The average temperature is then very pleasant at 23 ° C. Humidity is moderate during this time and it also rains relatively little. There is also no risk of falling victim to heavy rains and cyclones, high temperatures and an uncomfortable humidity as in the other months.

Fiji – key data

Area: 18,274 km²

883,125 residents (July 2011 estimate, CIA). Fijians 57.3% (mainly Melanesians with Polynesian shares), Indians 37.6%, Rotumans 1.2%, others 3.9% (Europeans, other Pacific islanders, Chinese) (2007 census).

Population density: 48 residents per km²

Population growth:
0.798% per year (2011, CIA)

Capital: Suva (85,601 residents, with surrounding area 172,399 residents, 2007)

Highest point:
Tomanivi, 1,324 m

Lowest point: Pacific Ocean, 0 m

Form of government: Fiji is Independent from Great Britain since October 10, 1970 and a republic since 1987. However, due to the military coup, the country has been excluded from official Commonwealth meetings since 2006 and completely from the Commonwealth since 2009. The parliament in Fiji consists of two chambers: the House of Representatives (71 MPs) and the Senate (32 seats).

Democracy was interrupted by two military coups in 1987. These coups were intended to prevent a possible predominance of the Indian population (descendants of workers who brought British colonial rule to Fiji in the 19th century). The coups and the 1990 constitution reaffirmed Melanesian control of Fiji and resulted in heavy Indian emigration. Fiji lost part of its population and ran into economic difficulties. A new constitution in 1997 treated minorities more fairly. Free and peaceful elections in 1999 led to an Indo-Fijian Prime Minister (Mahendra Chaudhry), in May 2000 brought about a coupa prolonged period of political unrest under civilian leadership. Parliamentary elections in August 2001 resulted in a government under Prime Minister Laisenia Qarase. He was re-elected in May 2006, but deposed in December 2006 after a military coup by Commodore Voreqe Bainimarama (better known as Frank Bainimarama). He declared himself initially as incumbent president and in January 2007 as interim prime minister.

Administrative structure: 4 divisions (Central, Eastern, Northern, Western) and a protected area (Rotuma)

Head of State:
President Ratu Epeli Nailatikau, since July 30, 2009

Head of Government: Prime Minister Frank Bainimarama, since January 5, 2007

Language: The official languages ​​in Fiji are Fiji, English and Hindustani.

Religion: Christian 64.5% (Methodist 34.6%, Roman Catholic 9.1%, Assembly of God 5.7%, Seventh Day Adventist 3.9%, Anglicans 0.8%, other Christians 10.4% ), Hindu 27.9%, Muslim 6.3%, Sikh 0.3%, other or no information 0.3%, no religion 0.7% (2007 census)

Local time: CET + 11 h.
There is no changeover between summer and winter time in Fiji.
The time difference to Central Europe is + 11 h in winter and + 10 h in summer.

International phone code: +679

Internet Mains

Voltage: 240 V, 50 Hz

Fiji Geography

Comments are closed.