Cambodia vs Laos

Cambodia vs Laos


Vientiane is the capital of the Lao People’s Democratic Republic. It has almost 200,000 inhabitants. All of Laos has 6,834,942 inhabitants in an area of ​​236,800 square kilometers.

Until July 19, 1949, Laos was under French colonial rule. The head of state is Choummaly Sayasone and the head of government is Bouasone Bouphavanh. Laos has no coast. It borders Myanmar, Cambodia, Vietnam, China and Thailand.

Laos is the only landlocked country in Southeast Asia. Nine tenths of the country are mountainous with altitudes over 2000 meters. The highest mountain is the Phu Bia with 2819 meters height. On the south, south-west border to Thailand there is a small lowland area in which the capital is located.

The main river in Laos is the Mekong, the Man Ou, the Nam Ngnum and the Nam Xebanghieng are also important rivers in Laos.
Half of the country is forested. 8 percent of the forests are virgin forests, the rest are either rain forests or monsoon forests. Unfortunately, many forests are still being cut down. As a result, the groundwater level has dropped in recent years. Elephants are used as pack animals in Laos. There are also leopards and tigers in Laos.

Tourism in Laos is still largely underdeveloped. But you rely on him as a source of foreign exchange and therefore try soft tourism.
There are three international airports in Laos, one in the capital, one in Luang Prabang and one in Pakse.
Regular bus traffic can be found on paved roads. Flatbed wagons with 2 seats are used in the countryside. Sometimes such trips can be very delayed due to poor road conditions.

On the Mekong you can go by boat from Huay Xay to Vientiane. You stay in Pakbeng and Luang Prabang, because the trip can take between two and three days. There are also speed boats that are prone to accidents and can cover this distance in a few hours. However, passengers must wear protective helmets.
Unfortunately, there are still many unexploded bombs from the Vietnam War in Laos, which make some areas very dangerous.


According to best-medical-schools, Cambodia is located between Thailand, Laos and Vietnam. It is a constitutional monarchy ruled by King Norodom Sihamoni and Prime Minister Hun Sen. 14.5 million people live on an area of ​​181,040 square kilometers, which results in a population density of 75 inhabitants per km².

The capital is called Phnom Penh and it is located in the south of the country.

History of Cambodia:

Phnom Penh Royal Palace

The Kambuja kingdom had its heyday from the 9th to the 15th century. The Kingdom of Cambodia originated from this empire.

Many ruins from the period have been declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.

In 1953, Cambodia declared itself independent of French colonial rule. The period that followed brought many civil wars and the dictatorial rule of the Khmer Rouge.


The coast is 443 kilometers long. The country has an 803 km border with Thailand. Cambodia borders Laos in the north. The border there is 541 kilometers long.
The longest border is that of Vietnam, it is 1228 kilometers long.

The Cambodian Basin is between 5 and 30 meters above sea level. It is bordered by mountains on three sides. The Phnom Aôral is the highest mountain in Cambodia at 1813 meters.

Important rivers in Cambodia are the Mekong and Tonle Sap rivers. The Menkong is the largest river in Southeast Asia. In the rainy season, the Menkong has so much water that it feeds the Tonle Sap. The lake then swells from a size of 2,500 km² to 20,000 square kilometers. The Tonle Sap is the largest lake in Southeast Asia.

Kaôh Köng is the largest of the 64 islands that belong to Cambodia. Then Koh Rong comes as the second largest island.

Other important islands are Koh Thmei, Koh Samit, Koh Tang and Koh Tonsay.

You can find mangrove forests on the coast in Cambodia, there are evergreen mountain forests at an altitude of about 700 meters and there is topical rainforest on the western slopes of the mountains.


Comments are closed.