Australian Capital Territory

Australian Capital Territory

Translated into the German language means Australian Capital Territory Australian Haupttstadtgebiet. This is located in Canberra and is one of the territories of the Australian Confederation.

The Australians abbreviate the Australian Capital Territory with ACT. It has an area of ​​2,358 square kilometers and is an enclave that is completely enclosed by the state of New South Wales.
The Australian Capital Territory even has its own government. However, the full independence of the Australian states has not yet been granted to the ACT.
The government takes over a Council of Ministers, which is led by a Chief Minister as head. In addition, the government consists of 17 members of parliament. They can pass laws and are generally responsible for the member states and are empowered to make independent decisions at the municipal level. The federal government nevertheless retains the highest right. Resolutions made by the Australian Capital Territory can be repealed by current federal law. Two of the members of the ACT represent the terrorists in the Senate and in the House of Representatives.

The History of the Australian Capital Territory

According to agooddir, the first residents of the area were the three Aboriginal tribes Ngunnawal, Walgal and Ngarigo who settled here. Settlements with farms and small towns emerged from 1824 onwards.

William Farrer’s farm
stood in the vicinity of the area. He managed to breed a rust-resistant wheat variety near Tharwa, and thus went down in the history of Australia. From then on, the wheat growing business flourished in Australia. In 1910, a decision by parliament created the basic requirements for establishing the territory as it exists today. Until 1938 the ACT was still called the Federal Capital Terreitory.

You were not allowed to consume alcohol in the territory until 1928. This was due to legislation by King O’Malley. As Minister of the Interior, he enforced an alcohol ban. It was also O’Mallyey who a few years earlier, namely in 1911, announced a competition for the best design in the new capital. This was won by the American and architect Walter Burley Griffin. Just two years later, surveying work began on the area. On March 12, 1913, the governor-general’s wife was finally given the honor of baptizing the future city with the name Canberra.
In 1915, the coastal area of Jervis Bay Territory was bought in order to have the opportunity to be active by sea to the actual area.
On May 9, 1927, the time had finally come. The Australian Parliament moved to the new city of Canberra, which officially took over as the Australian capital.

In 1988 the territory was granted the right to self-government. Unfortunately in 2003 a terrible bush fire raged and destroyed large parts of the ACT area. Over 500 buildings fell victim to the devastating fire.

Australian Capital Territory Attractions

The Canberra area is home to many large agricultural land. The farmers mostly raise sheep here. Cows for the dairy industry are also kept here.
The vineyards of Canberra are scenic and across national boundaries known for good harvests. For nature lovers, the Tidbindbilla nature reserve and the Namadgi National Park are good excursion tips.

In addition, a NASA Deep Space Network is located in the Australian Capital Territory.

Australian Capital Territory

Comments are closed.