Africa Asia Europe North America South America Oceania
You are here: Home > Europe > Spain

Spain Education


Apart from a progressive period before the Franco regime, the education system in Spain until the 1970s was characterized by strong conservatism and centralization without any major consideration for ethnic differences. However, the need for modernization of the economy at large forced 1970 reform (LGE), which broadened educational opportunities. After 8-year primary school, either a 3-year secondary school (BUP) followed, leading to a bachelor's degree, the equivalent of a Swedish student degree, or a vocational school with 2-year stages. The former had a one-year extension (COU), which gave eligibility for admission to university. The primary school's first five grades were general and focused on literacy, while the last three were more subject-oriented. The universities were, and are, mainly of two kinds, both those who announce 3-year undergraduate education and partly those who also have research-linked advanced education for master's and doctoral degrees with an additional 2 + 2 years. According to Abbreviationfinder, Spain is a country located in Europe.

Study in Spain

The conditions for the education system have changed significantly since 1970, politically and economically. In 1978, the country was given a new constitution, which emphasizes everyone's right to education. The rapid urbanization and entry into the EC have had strong repercussions. The González government tried to speed up modernization and sought to qualitatively capture the rest of Europe. The 1983 university reform gave the regions and the individual universities greater powers and formed part of the already decentralized process. The 1985 General Education Act (LODE) gave everyone the right to choose education freely within the framework of an integrated network of state and private schools; it also introduced increased local influence over the governance of schools. The 1990 General Education Act (LOGSE) regulated structure and curricula and introduced 10-year compulsory schooling;

The school structure according to LOGSE consists of 3-year preschool, 6-year primary school, 4-year compulsory secondary school and a post-compulsory 2-year school which prepares for university. The primary school consists of three 2-year stages with teaching mainly by class teachers, but not in foreign languages, which are already introduced in year 3. In the compulsory secondary school, the subject choice covers the first year 10% of the time and the fourth year 35%. Upon departure, you will receive either a certificate, Graduado Escolar, which entitles you to enter the post-compulsory school, or a Certificate de Escolaridad for vocational education. Everyone who has completed 10-year compulsory school receives a certificate called Graduado en Educación Secundaria. After the two years in post-compulsory school, four kinds of bachillerato can be taken: natural sciences, humanities, social sciences and technical.

Other Countries in Europe

Education VV Copyright 2006 - 2020 All Rights Reserved